RoHS (“Restriction on Hazardous Substances“) has been an EU Directive that regulates the amount of various toxic substances in electric appliances and electronic devices since the 1st of July, 2006. The RoHS directive affects the following substances: lead, cadmium, chrome VI, mercury, polybrominated biphenyls and polybrominated diphenyl ethers that may only occur in certain concentrations.

Although the RoHS directive affects various electric and electronic devices, the given limits only apply for the single homogenous materials. For example, this means that for a headset, all physically divisible parts have to be analysed separately. Basically, the goal of the RoHS directive is to make supply firms compile certificates of the materials (e.g. unloaded boards, plump, plugs, pins, cords, casings, plastic parts etc.) which are then received by the final producer.

RoHS conformity is in particular interesting for the following devises

  • Large household appliances
  • Small household appliances
  • IT- and telecommunication devices
  • Consumer electronics goods
  • Lamps and lighting
  • Electrical and electronical tools (with the
    exception of large-scale stationary industrial tools)
  • Toys, leisure and sports equipment
  • Automatic dispensers

X-ray fluorescence analysis is the recommended treatment for validating RoHS conformity

In DIN EN 62321-3-1, the International Electrotechnical Commission recommends the X-ray fluorescence analysis as a particularly suitable treatment for the control of determined maximum concentrations.

If you are interested in a validation for RoHS conformity please contact us via email or phone. We are looking forward to helping you!

Useful links dealing with the RoHS directive and further explanations:

Seal after analyzing the RohS conformity

Seal after analyzing the RohS conformity

Guidelines 2011/65/EU of the European Parliament and the board concerning the restriction of the use of certain substances in electrical and electronic devices (8th of June, 2011)

Leaflet RoHS

Regulation of the restriction of dangerous substances in electrical and electronic devices

RoHS (“Restriction on Hazardous Substances”) ist eine EU-Richtlinie, die den Gehalt von bestimmten Schadstoffen in Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten seit dem 1.7.2006 regelt. Die RoHS-Richtlinie betrifft folgende Substanzen: Blei, Cadmium, Chrom VI, Quecksilber, Polybromierte Biphenyle und Polybromierte Diphenylether, die nur in bestimmten Konzentrationen auftreten dürfen, was im Rahmen einer Analyse auf RoHS-Konformität überprüft werden kann.

Die RoHS-Richtlinie betrifft zwar alle möglichen elektrischen und elektronischen Geräte, doch die angegebenen Grenzwerte gelten nur, wie dort deutlich betont wird, für die jeweils einzelnen homogenen Werkstoffe. Das bedeutet, dass z.B. bei einem Headset alle physikalisch voneinander trennbaren Einzelteile gesondert untersucht werden müssen. Vom Grundsatz her soll durch die RoHS-Richtlinie erreicht werden, dass die Zulieferer der Einzelteile (z.B. nicht bestückte Platinen, Lot, Stecker, Kontakte, Kabel, Gehäuse, Kunststoffteile usw.) Zertifikate erstellen lassen, die dann dem Endhersteller vorliegen.

Für folgende Gerätegruppen lohnt sich eine Analyse auf RoHS-Konformität

  • Haushaltsgroßgeräte
  • Haushaltskleingeräte
  • IT- und Telekommunikationsgeräte
  • Geräte der Unterhaltungselektronik
  • Beleuchtungskörper
  • Elektrische und elektronische Werkzeuge (mit Ausnahme ortsfester
    industrieller Großwerkzeuge)
  • Spielzeug sowie Sport- und Freizeitgeräte
  • Automatische Ausgabegeräte

Zur Analyse auf RoHS-Konformität eignet sich RFA besonders

Siegel nach erfolgreicher Analyse auf RoHS-Konformität

Siegel nach erfolgreicher Analyse auf RoHS-Konformität

Die International Electrotechnical Commission empfiehlt in der DIN EN 62321-3-1 die Röntgenfluoreszenzanalyse (RFA) als besonders geeignetes Verfahren zur Kontrolle der festgelegten Höchstkonzentrationen.

Bei Interesse an einer Überprüfung auf RoHS-Konformität wenden Sie sich bitte per E-Mail oder direkt telefonisch an uns. Wir freuen uns, Ihnen weiterzuhelfen!

Links zu RoHS-Richtlinie und Erläuterungen dazu:

Richtlinien 2011/65/EU des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 8. Juni 2011 zur Beschränkung der Verwendung bestimmter Stoffe in Elektro und Elektronikgeräten

Verordnung zur Beschränkung der Verwendung gefährlicher Stoffe in Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten (ElektroStoffV)